Before & After with Photoshop

I sometimes get asked about retouching techniques in my photos, so I’ve decided to start posting side-by-side photos of ‘before’ and ‘after’ images – something I personally love to search the internet for. I won’t always go into the details of how I got to the final image, but should you have questions, simply ask below. 

The photo below was photographed by me and styled by Justyna Baraniecki, hair and makeup by Noah Venkatarangam. It was for Ottawa Citizen Style magazine from Spring 2012. The big challenge (which I did not pre-plan) was whitening the model’s skin to give her an almost porcelain-doll appearance. Through trial and error, some desaturation, and very careful masking, I was able to achieve this look in a few hours of Photoshop. I painted myself into a bit of a corner as I had to do this to 4 other images and a tight deadline to boot.

Image

Leave a Reply

