Helicopters, Lunar Eclipses, and High ISO

That about sums it up.

I shot a job for a real-estate development company last summer. They provided a helicopter and I provided a steady hand and some fast shutter speeds (probably faster than needed, in retrospect). Me and my straight-out-of-Miami-Vice-looking pilot did a few tours between Rockliffe and Westboro sometimes precariously low, along the Ottawa River at sunset. After we got what we needed, we made another ‘safety’ run as the eclipsed moon rose over downtown. Even though I was enjoying the view / ride so much, I couldn’t help but wish that I had been on the Quebec side of the river with a good tripod and low ISO.

This grainy shot was the best I could develop of this scene. Shot with a Canon 5D MKII, 24-70L lens at 2.8, 1/500 second, ISO 6400.

*Side note: I missed the first two periods of game 7 of the Stanley Cup playoffs for this gig. This was the same night all those riots happened in Vancouver.

Leave a Reply

