New Calvin Klein ad spells out a 4 letter word. Can you see it? I’ll give you a hint: the last two letters are ‘ck’. More hints? The table behind lovely Lara is the ‘f’ and her low cut top (or bottoms) could be the ‘u’. Do I need to spell it out for you?

Though the presence of the word is debatable, it’s nonetheless caused a bit of a stir amongst blogs and media people due to its ‘controversy’. I don’t really get what is so controversial about it, tbh. I’m not surprised or shocked by the ‘f word’. I haven’t been since I was 8 when I was literally shocked by our old tv and exclaimed ‘fuck!’ in surprise.

If the word does exist, its motive is beyond transparent; not in so much as a command (don’t need CK to tell me how to enjoy my spare time), but for the stir they knew it would cause, resulting in extra visibility for their product. Yawn. CK has been doing this for 30 years at least… This type of ad controversy isn’t new, but the public has a short memory: ‘nothing comes between me and my clavins’? Kate Moss ‘appearing’ as an anorexic 14 year old? I could go on and on… If I have a problem with this campaign, it’s not for the word itself, it’s for the lack of creativity that was happening around the board room table of the ad agency that developed it. Now, if I could find the word ‘me’ somewhere in the ad, then I might be impressed. And slightly aroused. Hell, I might even buy a pair pair of their jeans.

Photo courtesy of www.adrants.com

Leave a Reply

